ADVERTISEMENT

Rules changes officially approved

I wonder how this will affect the teams that run the Princeton offense?A high percentage of those types of teams often go deep into the shot clock.

I'm sure I'm in the minority on this, but I think the rules committee is crazy if they think these rules are going to increase scoring. They may increase shots attempted, but with less time on the shot clock and ten seconds total in the backcourt, I think you're going to see a lot more teams using some form of full court pressure.

If I'm a coach, I love my chances on defense if there's only 22 seconds on the shot clock by the time a team goes into it's halfcourt offense.

I'm with you, 112. We're going to see much more 1 on 1 play, more wild shots, and probably the same amount of scoring.

I think it's been acknowledged by the rules committee that lowering the shot clock alone isn't going to suddenly result in a lot more scoring. It's part of the package of changes designed to increase the pace of the game. I think looking at the big picture, what will eventually most affect scoring is the gradual change we are seeing in moving toward more floor spacing, using smaller lineups, so-called "stretch fours" who can shoot, and an overall greater emphasis on shooting. As the college game begins to morph more along the lines of what the NBA has experienced, then you'll see more scoring. But anything that reduces the number of timeouts, especially at the end of games, is a good thing in my book. -:)

... more floor spacing ...

The discussion of the European lane seems to have faded away.

I think widening the court would also help. Although I know then we're talking about reducing revenue.

Generally, I can't believe there's not a discussion that they are playing on the same size court while the size of the players has increased dramatically since the 50s and 60s.

The discussion of the European lane seems to have faded away.