ADVERTISEMENT

NU announces some future non-conference opponents

pschatz25

Nov 29, 2005
Just saw this on Twitter:

Home:
Tulane (2020)
Central Michigan (2020)
South Dakota State (2026) Are they moving to FBS?
Rice (2031)

Away:
Tulane (!) (2025)
Rice (2029)

So start scrolling ahead in your calendars to add them.

Just saw this on Twitter:

Home:
Tulane (2020)
Central Michigan (2020)
South Dakota State (2026) Are they moving to FBS?
Rice (2031)

Away:
Tulane (!) (2025)
Rice (2029)

So start scrolling ahead in your calendars to add them.

Tulane!!! Finally...

SDS not moving, but allowed to schedule FCS again starting this year.

As a Central Michigan grad, I am VERY excited to spend the 25th anniversary of ‘95 seeing my alma mater vs my FAVORITE program!! Go Cats!!

Reactions: Hungry Jack
I don't get the logic in scheduling them. One of the top FCS programs, a no win situation for NU. Not like SD is a recruiting hotbed. The Jacks have much more to gain from this game than does NU.
None of these games excite me, though I understand Tulane in a home and away series. I'd sure like to see us play more ACC and Big 12 teams. UVA competes for our recruits as much as Duke and we appear to be up against ISU with some frequency as well. Virginia Tech, Texas (Austin), Oklahoma, Clemson, and UNC would also be fun places to visit. If, rather than creating interest and excitement, we are just scheduling "to win", then the wins should be almost guaranteed, and as you note, some of these are not.
(edit) I just saw Fitz on TV singing for Harry at Wrigley. He touted the next Cats' game at the home of the Cubs in 2020, but also expressed real enthusiasm for the tough schedule this year, calling it a "great opportunity" for the team. We need to continue to play games with national interest.

Last edited:
Reactions: 2388bb
H-A with Rice always makes sense, so I'd expect them to keep showing up on the schedule. Houston/Texas recruiting + huge alumni presence.