ADVERTISEMENT

The Bar Has Been Raised

Hungry Jack

Gold Member
Nov 17, 2008
the cotton fields and bus shelters
www.cbc.ca
So have a drink, Wildcat fans.

The debates I see carried on around here lately were unfathomable during my undergrad days at NU, which marked the official end of the Dark Ages. I graduated in 1989, and during those 4 years prior we won 11 games (1-2-2-2 in Feli speak). Now, we just completed our third 10-win season over a six year span.

I remember Francis Peay's (RIP) 4-7 campaign as interim coach in 1986. 4 wins! It felt like we were bowl eligible! 4 win! Huzzah! Now, we just won our 3rd bowl game in six seasons.

There have always been a few very good players in the program throughout the years. Guys who would become NFL starters. Not a whole lot has changed in that regard, but the talent depth is remarkably better from even ten years ago. While we are not graduating NFL starters, there are a lot of guys who are good enough to go to an NFL camp, which is some ways is a better measure of overall talent. And injuries are no longer catastrophic to our seasons.

And then there is facilities. We practiced rugby at Dyche back in the day, but never tackled on that rock-hard turf. We valued our health. I pumped iron at Patton Gym, including using this medieval looking wooden leg press contraption that was inspired by the Flinstones. Now Patton was not home for the football players, but I am guessing their facilities were just slightly better.