ADVERTISEMENT

Poll: Your connection(s) to ND? (Can vote for multiple items)

NU fans, do you have a tie to Notre Dame?

• I am an ND grad/ current student

Votes: 2 2.8%
  • At least one of my parents attended ND

Votes: 2 2.8%
  • At least one of my children attended ND

Votes: 4 5.6%
  • My brother or sister attended ND

Votes: 5 6.9%
  • Extended family (aunt, nephew, son-in-law, etc.) attended ND

Votes: 13 18.1%
  • I was an ND fan before I saw the light

Votes: 7 9.7%
  • I believe that ND sucks today and has always sucked

Votes: 35 48.6%
  • I don’t really care about ND

Votes: 25 34.7%
  • I still cheer for ND most of the time

Votes: 5 6.9%

• Total voters

NUCat320

Dec 4, 2005
I might be wrong, but it *seems* like there are more familial connections to ND among NU fans than to other schools, including most in the Big Ten. What’s yours?

Last edited:
My little sister, Tanya, graduated from ND in 93'. When I was a grad student at Purdue in 91', I picked her up along with 3 of her pretty girlfriends for Thanksgiving break at my parents' place. I stayed overnite in her friend's room the nite before we took off. I remember thinking to myself that ND was a lot more conservative/religious than NU. Pretty girls- fun to hook up with. Some really nice people there- good food in the mess hall too! I usually root for ND- except when they play NU. The one day of the year that I won't like my sister will be Sat., 11/3/18!

Reactions: StreamCat
Lifelong hatred. I suppose it's a family connection in that my dad and I cheered whoever was playing Notre Dame together on many, many Saturdays...

Reactions: scru and NUCat320
I voted for 4. I’ll make clear that it’s possible.
You didn’t include close friends in your poll. I was high school friends with quite a few ND grads. Lost touch with most of them but they were all good people. I only root against ND because they are easier to recruit against when they lose