ADVERTISEMENT

Game thoughts

torque-cat

Dec 11, 2018
Another solid, solid game by Northwestern. Nothing fancy, just lunch pail stuff play after play.

1. Ramsey: Mr. Third Down. Just like the team, nothing fancy but does everything well and plays best on big downs. He's not quite Persa but he is in the same mold, which is extremely praise.

2. RBs: Mostly shut down, but takes a lot of discipline to stick with a balanced attack. Bowser still doesn't look as nimble as he did 2 yrs ago, not sure if that's his health, the OL or something else. Anderson is a change of pace who will get a big play every dozen carries and keep the D honest on the edges. It's RB by committee--we don't have a star but they are doing the work.

3. OL: I'm no expert here. Seemed to have pretty good pass protection, not many holes for the RBs--maybe by design for Purdue and Neal is an absolute load. We seem to miss Slater a bit.

4. WRs: I love how many guys are involved and pretty effective. Once again nobody spectacular but everyone does their job, very few drops all year. Also give credit to Ramsey for accuracy and throwing catchable balls into the numbers. Are we underusing the TE? Skowronek could've taken the O to another level, he's clearly a stud even on a national title contender.

5. DL: Beast run defense all day, just like every game. Not a lot of pure pass rushers here but they do their job and let the LBs and DBs make big plays.

6. LBs: Solid as always. Maybe not their best game, but their usual excellent play.