ADVERTISEMENT

Ryan Field: Best and Worst memories

NJcatsfan

Nov 21, 2004
Assuming (?) this week will be the final game at the old stadium, it seems fitting that we send it off with some reminiscences. My question is simple: What are your fondest, and worst, memories at Ryan Field? In-person experiences only. (Update: I now see there was a thread similar to this a few weeks ago, but I missed it)…

For me, the best is easy. Ohio State, 2004. I was an undergrad. Stormed the field. Magic.

Wisconsin 2009 gets an honorable mention. And, weirdly, Syracuse 2013. Why? Gorgeous evening game, large crowd, 95% purple. Coming off a thriller at Cal and a 10-win season. Easy, satisfying win, with nothing but optimism before the season went into a tailspin. I just remember it feeling very satisfying.

Worst memory? Gah, there are quite a few. Quite a few blowouts with half the place filled with visiting fans. 2006 blown lead on homecoming a true disaster. There was a night game against Purdue at some point that I remember being important. We lost and they shot off planned postgame fireworks, adding insult to injury. And maybe this is recency bias, but last season’s SIU loss was a low point.

Here’s to one more win at the place that I deeply love and somewhat hate — and to many more victories and a better home field advantage at the new, gleaming RF (fingers crossed)…

Last edited:
1995 Wisconsin. As a student, and WI native, I had many friends who came from Madison for the game and had visitor tickets in the East stands. I told them I’d meet them on the 50 yard line after the game. Sure enough, after 35-0 they stormed onto the field with everyone else and met me there!

2000 Michigan shootout, one of the landmark games of college football history. It was an afternoon game but finished in the dark under the lights.

I choose not to relive a “worst” experience.

Great, and certainly timely, topic.