ADVERTISEMENT

Why it may be time for me to give up sportsfandom and get a real life

eastbaycat99

Mar 7, 2009
As an undergrad, I remember taking Dr. Perry’s History of Religions class on the Old Testament, and hearing his very lucid explanation of the meaning of the Book of Job.

Over the last bunch of years, there have been four sports teams that I have given my soul, time, and money to: NU Football, the Oakland Athletics, NU Basketball, and Cal Football. My life as a sports fan has brought me back to Dr. Perry’s classroom, imagining myself in Job’s role. What, I ask myself does it all mean?

Needless to say, it has been a rough year. With the addition of Boo Buie’s hand injury and Cal’s sudden humiliating exile from the Power 5 added to the Hazing Scandal and Fisher Las Vegas/ MLB Fiasco, I am left with only the solace of my dog, who in previous years cowered on game day for fear I might kick her, licking my imaginary sores.

Should I find some other focus of my time and attention, say, learning photography like Alaskacat or studying odd creatures like Gladescat? Should I start collecting stamps or take up gardening?

My answer is in the Book of Job:

I will take seven bulls and seven rams, give a burnt offering, and the Lord will send the FB Cats to the National Championship, Fisher will sell the A’s to a group headed by Dave Stewart, Boo will be full speed by the start of the season, and the B1G will extend an invitation to Cal.

Go Cats. Beat Rutgers!

As an undergrad, I remember taking Dr. Perry’s History of Religions class on the Old Testament, and hearing his very lucid explanation of the meaning of the Book of Job.

Over the last bunch of years, there have been four sports teams that I have given my soul, time, and money to: NU Football, the Oakland Athletics, NU Basketball, and Cal Football. My life as a sports fan has brought me back to Dr. Perry’s classroom, imagining myself in Job’s role. What, I ask myself does it all mean?